You are here: HOME > About > Publication > Macao Sport
2012 / NO.1
2012 / NO.1
2012-2014 Macao Sports Commission Member Election

Held every two years, the Macao Sports Council election was held on the afternoon of January 8th at the conference room on the 5th floor of the Tap Seac Multisport Pavilion. The election this year involved twenty three candidates, the most number of candidates ever for the election. Each of the fifty-three attending representatives from local sports associations were given a vote, and the new Sports Council members were successfully elected after one round of voting. The election was conducted the supervision of the President of the Macao Sport Development Board Mr. Vong Iao Lek and the Vice-Presidents of the Macao Sport Development Board, Mr. José Tavares and Mr. Pun Weng Kun.

The ten elected Sports Council members are: Mr. Chan Veng Kit, Mr. Wan Kwan Lok, Mr. Ho King Lon, Mr. Pao Ma Chong, Mr. Wu Chung Fai, Mr. Chan Kwan Fai, Mr. Cheang Kuok Hang, Mr. Lee Man Yum, Ms. Ma Ka May and Mr. Mak Chi Kun.

The ten Sports Council members appointed by the Chief Executive are as follows: Mr. Chui Tat Ming, Mr. Chong Kuok Veng, Mr. Lee Ka Hong, Mr. Herculano Francisco Gomes Ribeiro, Mr. José António Carixas Silveririnha, Ms. Lam Wa Ieng, Ms. Lam Yuen Mui, Mr. Leong Sio Pui, Mr. Ma Iao Hang, Mr. Ng Luen Man, and Mr. Yuen Oi Mo. Also, under the terms of Chief Executive Dispatch no. 5/2012, Mr. António Fernandes was appointed as a member of the Commission in representation of the sports associations for the physically disabled.

There are  nine ex-offio Sports Council members. Of these, seven come from the government, namely the Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture and Chairman of the Macao Sports Council, Mr. Cheong U, the President of the Macao Sport Development Board, and Vice-Chairman of the Macao Sports Council, Mr. Vong Iao Lek, the Vice-Presidents of the Macao Sport Development Board, the Director of the Education and Youth Affairs Bureau, or representative thereof, the Director of the Land, Public Works and Transport Bureau or representative thereof and the President of the Supervisory Committee of IACM, or representative thereof. The remaining two positions are taken on by the President and the Secretary-General of the Sports and Olympic Committee of Macao, China, or the representatives thereof.