You are here: HOME > About > Publication > Macao Sport
2010 / NO.4
2010 / NO.4
“Macao People Celebrate the National Day” World Walking Day Fun Run

“Macao People Celebrate the National Day” - World Walking Day Fun Run, organized by the Macao SAR Government, executed by the Sport Development Board, and assisted by the Macao Athletics Association, was held in the Golden Lotus Square at 8:15 a.m. on 1st October. This event, which was highly welcomed by the public, was held annually on National Day from year 2000 onwards. The Chief Executive of Macao SAR, Chui Sai On, took charge of the opening ceremony and more than 15,000 participants started their run at the sound of crackers.

The overall distance of the run is 3 kilometers with its starting point at the Golden Lotus Square. It goes through the Friendship Avenue and Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Avenue to Kun Iam Statue before shifting to the Dr. Carlos d’Assumpcao Square and retracing back to the Golden Lotus Square. This event includes two activities, walking and running. Participants were divided into several groups: schools, sports organizations, clan societies, public and private organizations, and other organizations. The aim of this event is to celebrate the National Day and let all Macao people to participate and share the joy and happiness on this special day. It also echoes to the World Walking Day as advocated by the Trim and Fitness Sports for All International Association (TAFSIA) and promotes development of sports for the general public with the aim of strengthening health of the citizens and friendship among different social groups.

Awards were presented immediately after the athletes had crossed the finish line. Presenters include Chui Sai On, Chief Executive of Macao SAR, Bai Zhijian, Director of Liaison Office of the Central People’s Government in the Macao SAR, Lu Shumin, Deputy Commissioner of the Office of the Commissioner of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China in Macao SAR, Zhu Qingsheng, the PLA Macao Garrison Commander, Ho Iat Seng, Acting Chairman of the Legislative Council, and Sam Hou Fai, President of the Court of Final Appeal.

Men Prize-winners Include:

1. Kuok Chi Wai


 2. Iao Kuan Un


 3. Lei Hang Chi


 4. Chan Chan Kit


 5. Ieong Ka Hou


 6. Chan Weng U


 7. Chong Chi Seak


 8. Kuan Chi Hou


 9. Lok Wai Kin


10. Lei Chi Keong



Women Prize-winners Include:  

 1. Hoi Long


 2. Leong Ka Man


 3. Chan Pou I


 4. Fong Soi Cheng


 5. Man Pou Yan


 6. Iao Si Teng


 7. Wong Weng Io


 8. Ho Pui Yan


 9. Sio Weng Io


10. Lei Cho Ieng





Group Prize-winners Include:




Hou Kong Middle School

Sports organizations

Macao General Association of Sports for the Elderly

Clan societies

Macao Jiangmen Communal Society

Public and Private organizations

Oi Wa Fashion and Sports Shop

Other organizations

Women’s General Association of Macao

National Day Prize

Individual - Kuok Chi Wai

National Day Prize

Team - Macao Jiangmen Communal Society