You are here: HOME > About > Publication > Macao Sport
2019 / NO.4
2019 / NO.4
Thammasin Defeated Shi Yuqi and Became the Champion in Men's Singles

Badminton Macau Open-part of the HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300, authorized by the World Badminton Federation, held by the Badminton Federation of Macau and sponsored by the Sports Bureau, was held from October 29 to November 3 at Tap Seac Multisport Pavilion. Eventually, Thammasin from Thailand won 2:1 over Shi Yuqi and won the champion title in the men's singles. Michelle Li Man-shan from Canada defeated Han Yue from China and defended the champion title in the women's singles. The China national team won the champion in the men's doubles and women's doubles. The champion title in the mixed doubles was awarded to Thailand.

The Macao Badminton BWF Tour is a BWF Tour Super 300 event. It is also one of the events deciding athletes qualified to participate in the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games. The prize money was 1.2 million Macao Patacas, attracting over 280 athletes from 18 countries and regions including China, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia and Indonesia. Macao team sent 5 male and 3 female athletes to compete in events including the men's singles, women's doubles, men's doubles and mixed doubles

The most striking event was definitely the men's singles final. The 1st seed player Shi Yuqi competed against the 5th seed player Thammasin. Having won 21:12 in the first round, however, Shi Yuqi's performance became worse in the second round and lagged 1:7 behind in the beginning. Eventually, Thammasin caught up and won 21:14. During the final match, Shi Yuqi could not recover from his downturn, while Thammasin won 21:7 again, winning the champion title with 2:1 in wins.

In the women's singles final, Lei Man San, who had defended her champion title, competed against the 3rd seed player Han Yue. Having clear advantages, Lei Man San won 21:18 in the first match. In the second match, she won 21:8 again and was finally crowned the champion again with 2:0 in wins.

The competitions among the best athletes of the China national team took place in the men's doubles final. Li Junhui partnered up with Liu Yuchen to compete against Huang Kaixiang and Liu Cheng, Eventually, Li and Liu won the champion title by 21:8, 18:21 and 22:20 respectively in three matches, with two wins. In terms of the women's doubles, the first seed players Du Yan / Li Yinhui won over Kittiharakul and Prajongjai from Thailand with 2 wins and were crowned the champion. In the mixed doubles final, Puavaranukroh / Taerattanachai from Thailand won 2:0 over Wang Chi-lin / Cheng Chi-ya from Chinese Taipei and won the champion title.