You are here: HOME > About > Publication > Macao Sport
2019 / NO.4
2019 / NO.4
Hoi Long Won Honour in the Outstanding Athletes Election for the 7th Time

The awarding ceremony of Outstanding Athletes Election for Year 2019, jointly organized by Sports Bureau and Macau Sports Weekly, took place on October 21 at Convention and Exhibition Centre of the Fisherman's Wharf. The highly regarded prizes including outstanding athletes, outstanding youth athletes, outstanding sports althetes groups and the most popular athletes were announced. The triathlon athlete Hoi Long became the first one who won seven consecutive outstanding athlete prize.

The outstanding athletes of this year are: Wushu athletes Huang Jun Hua, Li Yi and Cai Filong; Karate athletes Sou Soi Lam and Wong Sok I; Triathlon athlete Hoi Long; Swimming athlete Chao Man Hou; Indoor cycling athlete Au Hoi Ian and Special Olympics swimming athlete Chen Yu Chia. Hoi Long, who actualized her dream of winning a medal in the Asian Games held in Indonesia last year, has high expectation for the future. She hopes to become the best three in the Asian Games next year.

In terms of other prizes, the outstanding youth athletes are: Karate athletes Ho Kai Pong and Fong Man Hou; Wushu athletes Wong Sam In and Cheung Ioi Chit; Bowling athlete Cheang Lok In; Track-and-field athlete Cheong Tsi Kin; Judo athlete Kuok Lai Iong; Table tennis athlete Mak Tin Ian; Taekwondo athlete Alba Merilda de Assunção and indoor cycling athlete Au Hoi Man. The outstanding althetes groups are: Dancesport Tam Ka Pan/Vong Weng Lam; Table tennis Lam Oi Man/U Choi Hong and Macao Dragon Dance Team.

The gold award of the most popular athletes went to Lei On Kei, a swimming athlete. Hoi Long was awarded the silver award. Physically challenged swimming athlete Lam Oi Man won the bronze award. The gold award and the silver award of the most popular youth athletes went to Wushu athletes Cheung Ut Leng and Cheong Ioi Chit respectively. The bronze awardee was the dancesport athlete Ku Lai Wa. The recognition award was won by the Macao Disabled Sports Team and Macau Special Olympics Sports Team.

To recognize the effort of coaches from various single-event general associations, the hosts awarded ten outstanding coaches. The awardees are: Road/Indoor cycling coach Tsoi Chun Ming, Wushu coach Leong Hong Man, Karate coach Rashidnia Mohammad Reza, Artistic cycling coach Kuan Sok Mui, Bowling coach Yiu Man Yau, Thai boxing coach Siu Chi Hong, Special Olympic coach Siu Yu Ning, Swimming coach Ying Jingli, Triathlon coach Ando Kenta and dancesport coach U Mei Kok.