You are here: HOME > About > Publication > Macao Sport
2019 / NO.4
2019 / NO.4
Abebe and Cheruiyot Crowned the Champions

“Celebration of the 20th Anniversary of the Establishment of the Macao Special Administrative Region - 2019 Galaxy Entertainment Macao International Marathon”was held on December 1, attracting 12,000 athletes coming from 52 countries and regions. Eventually, Ethiopian Tafese Delelegn Abebe and Kenyan Cheruiyot were crowned the overall champion in the men's and women's category, respectively.

Over the years, the Macao International Marathon has been attracting the attention and participation of long-distance runners from all over the world. This year marks the 20th Anniversary of the establishment of the Macao SAR. The event organizing committee and sponsors had made various arrangements, including establishing the“Galaxy Entertainment Handover Cup”and hosting the“2019 Galaxy Entertainment International Marathon Carnival”. Integrating various elements, these events enabled visitors and residents to experience joy and festivity.

The race of the men's category became the one between Ethiopian Tafese Delelegn Abebe and Kenyan Lucy Cheruiyot. The winner could not be decided until the second when they crossed the finishing line. Eventually, Abebe crossed the finishing line in 2 hours 12 minutes and 53 seconds, winning champion prize money and special prize money totaling 47,000 USD. Kipkemboi became the runner-up with a margin of 4 seconds with the champion. Ethiopian Zewede was in the third place.

The race in the women's category was more intense. At the end of the race, two runners from Kenya Cheruiyot and Rodah Jepkorir Tanui were chased by Jo Un-ok from North Korea. Eventually, Cheruiyot broke through successfully and won the race in 2 hours 31 minutes and 17 seconds. Tanui, who was 6 seconds lagging behind, became the runner-up. Jo Un-ok won the second runner-up title with 2 hours 31 minutes and 44 seconds.

For Macao's athlete category, Chan Kai Un won the champion for the first time in the Macao's men athlete category with 2 hours 43 minutes and 41 seconds. The runner-up and second runner-up went to Kuok Chi Wai and Chan Weng U. In the women's category, Hoi Long broke the Macao record with 2 hours 55 minutes and 5 seconds, winning the champion in the Macao's women athlete category once again. Ieong Mei Na and Cheong Lai Peng were the runner-up and second runner-up respectively.