You are here: HOME > About > Publication > Macao Sport
2016 / NO.4
2016 / NO.4
All-City Run! Celebrating the 35th Anniversary of Macau International Marathon

The Macao International Marathon 2016 organized by the Sports Bureau and the General Association of Athletics of Macau,which was funded by the title sponsor Galaxy Entertainment Group, was held on the 4th of December, attracting 10,000 runners to participate in the marathon, half marathon and mini marathon. The invited runners Peter Kimeli Some from Kenya and Ji Hyang Kim from North Korea won the Men's and Women's championship respectively. They also won the event's special bonus of more than USD 40,000 each by breasting the tape within the designated time. Local runners from Macao have achieved good results as well. Chan Chong Ip outran the invited runner Kuok Chi Wai and won the first place of Macau Athletes (Male Group). "Ironwoman” Hoi Long made a time breakthrough of less than 3 hours in her history of 13 times of marathon, taking back home the championship of Macau Athletes (Female Group) and tying the 9-time Macao female marathon championship record of her predecessor Leong Lai Heong.

Running through the Bridge of Governador Nobre de Carvalho

On the competition day, 10,000 runners from 46 countries and regions gathered at the starting point at the Stadium of Olympic Sports Centre to compete in marathon, half marathon and mini marathon. Dr. Alexis Tam Chon Weng, Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture, Mr. Pun Weng Kun, President of the Sports Bureau, Mr. Ma Iao Hang, President of the Federation of Macau Sport General Association, Mr. Francis Lui Yiu Tung, Vice President of Galaxy Entertainment Group and Mr. Jorge Neto Valente, Adviser of Galaxy Entertainment Group presided the starter pistol ceremony. As it fell upon on 35th anniversary of the Macau International Marathon, certain iconic and challenging elements have been added to the event of this year. The course design integrated the starting point at the Bridge of Governador Nobre de Carvalho, turning to A-Ma Temple, Macau Tower, Macau Science Center, having the return route through the Bridge of Sai Van and other landmarks.

Runners from Kenya won top three places

The marathon event drew much attention with several invited male runners from Kenya having a lead in the race since the early phase. Three male runners from Kenya led in the last part of straight road. Peter Kimeli Some, who competed in Macao for the first time, crossed the finishing line with the time of 02:12:52, followed by Dominic Kangor Kimwetich and Suleiman Kipkesis Simotwo, who arrived line two and a half minutes later than Some and won the second and third place. “Macao has nice scenery and the course is challenging. I feel so good and I look forward to coming back for competitions in the future.” said Some after the competition.

Ji Hyang Kim caught up and won

Among the invited female runners, Ji Hyang Kim from North Korea rivaled Joan Jepchirchir Kigen from Kenya fiercely at the last part of the race. They ran into the stadium at almost the same time. At last, Kim outran Kigen during the final 200 meters and won the first place with the time of 02:36:16. Kigen won the second place with only 32 seconds longer. And another runner from Kenya Chemtai Rionotukei got the third place.

Hoi Long tied record

For the competitions of the Macao athletes, Chan Chong Ip and Kuok Chi Wai rivaled with each other throughout the race and occupied the leading place in turn. At last, Chan breasted the tape with the time of 02:41:51, ranking 12th among all male runners of the event and reclaiming the championship of the marathon event of Macau Athletes (Male Group). Hoi Long, who joined the competition for seven consecutive years, was competing with herself throughout the race. She finally realized the goal of less than three hours after these years, achieving her personal best with 02:57:27 and ranking 11th among all female runners of the event. This is also the ninth time for her to win the championship of marathon event of Macau Athletes (Female Group), tying the record of her predecessor Leong Lai Heong.