The FIVB Women’s Volleyball Nations League has replaced the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix from 2018 as the new world-class annual volleyball competition of the Fédération Internationale de Volleyball (FIVB). Preliminary and finals of the FIVB Women's Volleyball Nations League will be held in 20 cities around the world annually.

The FIVB Women’s Volleyball Nations League 2019 will take place from 21 May to 20 June in various cities. 12 core competing teams including: Brazil, China, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, the Netherlands, Russia, Serbia, Thailand, Turkey and the United States, while the 4 challenger teams including: Belgium, Bulgaria, Dominican Republic and Poland.

Macao has held 22 editions of the world class international Women’s Volleyball competitions with great success from 1994 to 2018. The efforts made by the organizing committee were recognized by FIVB and the competition was well received by local citizens and tourists throughout the years. The grand debut of the FIVB Women’s Volleyball Nations League from 2018 brought to the audience exciting matches of higher standard showcasing the outstanding skills of world-class volleyball players. The event will surely become another major sporting event in Macao.