You are here: Major Event > News & Multimedia Center > Press Release
Defending champion Pavit confirms for Macao Open

Thailand’s rising star Pavit Tangkamolprasert will return to defend his Macao Open title at one of the most respected tournaments on the Asian Tour schedule, which returns October 19 to 22.

Pavit, who won his first Asian Tour title at the Macao Open after defeating India’s Anirban Lahiri on the first play-off hole, will return to the place of his victory at the iconic Macau Golf and Country Club alongside a host of the best players globally. A total of 144 players including exciting local and Asian talents will battle it out for the prestigious title which, in its 19th year, is one of the longest running international sports events in the city, and the highlight of the local golf and Asian Tour calendar.

For the 28-year-old Pavit, the Macao Open was his biggest victory of his career and propelled him to finish a career high of 10th place on the 2016 Asian Tour Order of Merit.

“I am delighted to return to Macao next month to defend my title. The Macao Open is the biggest win of my career so far, and I will never forget the finish last year when Lahiri birdied seven in a row to force that play-off. He was playing so well, but I remember telling myself to stay calm, that I had nothing to lose. I was so thrilled to have come through, especially against one of the best players on the Asian Tour who also has the experience of winning the Order of Merit and Macao Open,” said Pavit.

The four-day tournament will continue to be jointly organised by Sports Bureau of Macao SAR Government (MSB) and the Golf Association of Macau. It is sanctioned by both the Asian Tour and the Golf Association of Macau, and promoted by IMG.

Pun Weng Kun, President, Sports Bureau of Macao SAR Government, said: “We are delighted to welcome Pavit back to Macao, who impressed us all with his skills and nerves of steel last year. The Macao Open provides Asia’s rising stars a unique platform to compete against some of the best in the world, and it was such a thrill to see Pavit take full advantage of the opportunity and showed the magnitude of his talent. We look forward to another exciting week at the 2017 Macao Open.”

Josh Burack, Chief Executive Officer of the Asian Tour, said: “On behalf of the Asian Tour and our talented players, we are excited to welcome the return of the Macao Open on our schedule. The Macao Open is one of the most popular tournaments among our players and fans. Through the years, we’ve witnessed great duels between Scott Hend and Anirban Lahiri, while Pavit Tangkamolprasert claimed a thrilling victory in a play-off against Lahiri last year. We are excited to continue our partnership with the Macau Sports Bureau, the Golf Association of Macau and Macau Golf and Country Club, who share the same goal as the Asian Tour to promote the sport of golf in the region.” 

Over the years, many of the world’s best golfers have graced the fairways of the Macau Golf & Country Club, including Major winners Ernie Els, Nick Faldo, Padraig Harrington, Fred Couples, Ian Woosnam and Mark O’Meara, as well as European Ryder Cup stars, Lee Westwood and Colin Montgormerie.

Sixteen players from nine nations have won the Macao Open, and Pavit will look to join China golf pioneer Zhang Lian-wei and 14-time tour winner Scott Hend of Australia as the only two-time winners of the Macao Open.

Grant Slack, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, Golf – IMG Events, said: “The Macao Open attracts some of the most seasoned professionals from around the world who thrill fans with the competitive golf action of the highest qualify at the Macau Golf & Country Club. Pavit’s composed finish last year was a great example of that, which saw him join a list of distinguished names on the tournament’s impressive roll of honour. With the continued support of the Macau Sports Bureau, Golf Association of Macau, Macau Golf & Country Club, and other partners, we can look forward to another successful edition of the Macao Open.”

Entry to the 2017 Macao Open, which carries a total prize purse of US$500,000, is free. For more information, please visit